The Treasurer's Office is a constitutional office that requires an election every four years.
The position is limited to two terms in 12 years.
The functions of the Treasurer's Office include the following:
  • The Office is responsible for the collection of taxes for all units of government within Kosciusko County.
  • The office is required by statute to collect delinquent taxes through the tax sale process.
  • The office is required to enter all personal property judgments with the Clerk of the Circuit Court for unpaid personal property.
  • The office receives innkeeper's tax collected and remitted by local hotels.
  • The office is required to send a tax statement to each property owner annually no later than 15 days prior to due date.
  • The office is required to send notice of surplus tax payments in excess of $5.00.
  • The office is responsible for honoring requests from mortgage companies for listings of tax obligations for escrow payments.
  • The Treasurer is required to advise taxing units when government employees fail to pay their property taxes.
  • The Treasurer is required to track all bankruptcies filed for Kosciusko County property owners.
  • The Treasurer is responsible for all investments for the county.
  • The Office issues all mobile home transfer/moving permits.
  • The Office issues all tax clearance for liquor licenses.
  • The Treasurer serves as Secretary of the County Board of Finance.

    The offices of the Assessor, Auditor and Treasurer must work closely together. Taxpayers are encouraged to use information provided by all offices on the county government website.

    If you do not find the answers you are seeking or if you feel there is a problem with your tax bill, please feel free to call 1-574-372-2370 or stop in the Treasurer's Office located on the second floor of the Courthouse. We will do our best to assist you.